Settling in

I strangely have been feeling very tired lately and haven’t been able to explain why. My roomate G and I have been troopers getting up at 5 am to go train at 6. I’m used to getting up early so that can’t be it. After thinking, I might have an idea. Stress.

We often underestimate stress, whethers it’s physical or mental. I got into my new city a little over a week ago and everything is stressful, yet exciting! I don’t know the area all that well and trust me, Toronto is big! I need to find a stable job while I build up my clientele at the studio. I’m sleeping at a temporary place while looking for something permanent – I’m lucky my roomate is awesome! But I’m still settling in while working for my show in a little over 4 months. I’m stressed and it started to slowly catch up to me last night. What did I do? I went to bed early and skip the gym this morning. Not an exuse, and not out of laziness but it’s important to understand that our body needs some off time to grow and rebuild. It’s important to purposely schedule some down time before you body forces you to. Whether it’s an active off day where you can still go for a walk or a yoga class, or whether you take the time to sit down and watch a movie that you chose, make a point of doing something for yourself once a week. In today’s lifestyle, an especially in Toronto after spending a week here, I noticed that everybody has a “go go go” mentatilty, which is fine, but you must take time to cool down if you want be proactive.

So put some music on, slip on your favorite pair of sweats, bake your favorite healthy muffin recipe and treat yourself to a movie. Turn eveything off and do not stress about tomorrow and everything else that needs to be accomplished – just know that with a mind cleared and rejuvenated, you WILL accomplish anything you want, and even more!

For myself, I might go for a quiet jog this afternoon and postone the leg workout for tomorrow. But right now, I’m getting all dolled up and ready for a casting for a bride and groom catalogue – nothing like trying on beautiful wedding gowns to make a girl smile and enjoy the day!

For healthy recipes that are fun and quick to bake, leave me a message and I’ll be happy to share!

Have a great heatlhy day everyone 🙂

 

1 thought on “Settling in

Leave a comment